Is that wine vegan?

You would think that wine would be vegan. I mean, it is only fermented grapes right? Unfortunately, this is not the case; wines can contain blood and marrow, casein, shells, egg white albumin, fish oil, gelatin, or isinglass and they do not need to be put the ingredients on the label. These ingredients are used to remove protein, yeast cloudiness, flavors, coloring, and particles that cloud the wine making it visually unappealing. This process is called fining and is used to give a silky, consistent mouth feel. Luckily using animal products is expensive, so some wine makers do not use them. A wine maker can use bentonite, activated charcoal, or diatomaceous earth instead of animal-derived products.

Mauro talks to Lee Hall about how to protect sturgeon from pollution, caviar, and using swim bladders to filter beer, wine and other alcoholic beverages.


To check if your wine is vegan go to Barnivore. I like wines from Cupcake Vineyards that are all vegan.

Do you have a favorite wine?

Podcast: Subscribe in iTunes

About James Lucas


James has been a graphic designer for over 18 years and owns Wave Hound Surf Shop. James started Doylestown Movie Fans, who meet once a month to see movies at the County Theater in Doylestown, PA. He and his wife Chris started Bucks County Vegan Supper Club in 2009, whose members meet once a month to have a vegan potluck dinner. They are currently working through the Veganomicon cookbook, which inspires experienced and recent vegans to try new recipes. James is proud to support Farm Sanctuary and The Surfrider Foundation.

Featuring Recent Posts WordPress Widget development by YD

%d bloggers like this: